Haaland Congratulates 2020 Presidential Scholar From New Mexico’s First Congressional District

May 21, 2020
Press Release
Albuquerque Academy’s Zachary Auster Named Presidential Scholar

Albuquerque, N.M. – Congresswoman Deb Haaland (NM-01) congratulated Albuquerque Academy student Zachary Auster, New Mexico’s 2020 Presidential Scholar from New Mexico’s First Congressional District. The student was announced when the U.S. Department of Education released the list of the 56th class of U.S. Presidential Scholars this afternoon. The 161 high school seniors are selected based on their accomplishments in academics, the arts, and career and technical education fields. 
As directed by Presidential Executive Order, the 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars are comprised of one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large, 20 Scholars in the arts and 20 Scholars in career and technical education. The second student recognized as a Presidential Scholar is Mireya Sanchez-Maes who attends Mayfield High School in New Mexico’s Second Congressional District represented by Congresswoman Xochitl Torres Small. 
“This public health emergency has taught us all how important education is, and I’m incredibly proud to congratulate Zachary Auster on his Presidential Scholar recognition. The commitment and dedication translate into academic achievement that both students from New Mexico have will be an asset as they set out to achieve their goals in life. I can’t wait to see what the future holds for them,” said Congresswoman Deb Haaland
Created in 1964, the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program has honored over 7,600 of the nation’s top-performing students. The program was expanded in 1979 to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, literary and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.
A complete list of 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars follows and is also available at http://www.ed.gov/psp.