TOMORROW: Haaland to Chair Hearing on Chaco Canyon, Grand Canyon Protection Bills

June 4, 2019
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. –  Tomorrow, June 5, 2019, Congresswoman Deb Haaland (NM-01) will chair the House Subcommittee on National Parks, Forests and Public Lands hearing on the Chaco Cultural Heritage Area Protection Act (H.R. 2181) and Grand Canyon Centennial Protection Act (H.R. 1373).


Chair Deb Haaland, members of the Subcommittee on National Parks, Forests, and Public Lands


Subcommittee Hearing on the Chaco Heritage Area Protection Act and Grand Canyon Centennial Protection Act


Tomorrow, June 5, 2019


Longworth 1324 and online here


The Honorable Carletta Tilousi (H.R. 1373)


Havasupai Tribe


Dr. Peter Huntoon (H.R. 1373)

Retired Professor of Geology and Geophysics

The University of Wyoming


The Honorable Buster D. Johnson (H.R. 1373)

District 3 Supervisor

Mohave County Board of Supervisors


The Honorable E. Paul Torres (H.R. 2181)


All Pueblo Council of Governors


The Honorable Myron Lizer (H.R. 2181)

Vice President

Navajo Nation


The Honorable Timothy Menchego (H.R. 2181)


Pueblo of Santa Ana


Mr. Samuel Sage (H.R. 2181)

Community Services Coordinator

Counselor Chapter House

The Chaco Cultural Heritage Area Protection Act would withdraw minerals owned by the U.S. government from future leasing and development that are located within the Proposed Chaco Protection Zone – which surrounds the Chaco Culture National Historical Park – protecting the remaining Chaco ruins and landscape nearest the park.

The Grand Canyon Centennial Protection Act would make permanent the current 20-year moratorium on new claims on approximately 1 million acres north and south of Grand Canyon National Park.